top of page

The She-Captain and the Mer-folk | Ballad


Cover by @ArtfulNautilus on Instagram

The She-Captain and the Mer-Folk

A poem of Asher de Gavrillac

I grabbed a book from of the shelf,

One that I'd written all by my self.

“Now gather round my sons and my daughters,

And hear my tale of extreme oceans and waters,

and 'bout pirates who took vessels by storm,

and was said of which that they were of a strange form.

Now, once there was a woman, a captain, a lady,

who would not buckle to deals that where shady.

She took care of her nieces and nephews on land,

and of her crew she would not demand.

The Captain was gentle, beautiful, and nice,

and the sailors knew better then to make her ask twice.

So they sailed to the coordinates where many ships where lost.

The journey was hard, and rough, and their vessel was tossed-

to the left and to the right,

from the day to the night.

They finally made it, the mystery revealed.

The Captain noted that their fate was sealed,

for the pirates were Mermaids, beautiful and young,

(They would drown the sailors as they sung.

And the Mermen would steal the ship and kill with the sword.)

She had to think quick, time was a luxury which they could afford.

The crew was spellbound with the mermaids voices.

The Lady thought hard, and went through the choices.

She thought up plan really simple, and quite quick,

to dump over Red Tide and make their enemies sick.

'Cover your ears, and your eyes, won't you please?

My young men, do as I say! Listen to my pleads!'

Shocked by her commanding and not asking like times before,

they did as she said with their face to the floor.

She poured overboard the poisonous algae,

which killed the mer-folk pirates of the East Sea.

The crew sailed back to their hometown, a town like no other

as safe as duckling under the wing of their mother.

The Lord rewarded the Captain with a golden carriage.

and asked for the Lady's hand in marriage.

The Captain accepted, they married that week,

and some adventure the two did seek.

So they sailed to the west to the island of Dascar,

a volcanic land off the coast of Agmar.

The twosome were crowned,

when they came back:

King Cedric, Queen Mariebelle de Gavrillac.”

Now this is a tale as real as me,

I close my eyes and their faces I see.

These two were my parents, a beautiful couple.

They cared for everyone nobility and peasants the same,

The world will remember the de Gavrillac name.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow
  • Twitter Classic
  • DeviantartIconPink
  • Deviantart
  • Pinterest
bottom of page